Fantastic year for poetry

TS Eliot poetry prize shortlist

“This is a fantastic year for poetry, with the highest amount of entries submitted in the history of the prize, and an exceptional number of outstanding collections,” said Petit, who was joined on the panel of judges by fellow poets Kei Miller and Ahren Warner. “This made our task of choosing the shortlist tricky – many that didn’t make it are books we love. But we were unanimous about our final list, the books my distinguished fellow judges and I picked all awed and excited us with their ambition, verve and technical mastery.”

The winner of the award will be announced on 11 January, and will receive a cheque for £20,000, donated by the TS Eliot Estate.

The shortlist in full

Mark Doty – Deep Lane (Cape Poetry)
Tracey Herd – Not in this World (Bloodaxe)
Selima Hill – Jutland (Bloodaxe)
Sarah Howe – Loop of Jade (Chatto & Windus)
Tim Liardet – The World Before Snow (Carcanet)
Les Murray – Waiting for the Past (Carcanet)
Sean O’Brien – The Beautiful Librarians (Picador)
Don Paterson – 40 Sonnets (Faber)
Rebecca Perry – Beauty/Beauty (Bloodaxe)
Claudia Rankine – Citizen: An American Lyric (Penguin)

/ Guardian

Kommentar verfassen

Bitte logge dich mit einer dieser Methoden ein, um deinen Kommentar zu veröffentlichen:

Du kommentierst mit Deinem Abmelden /  Ändern )


Du kommentierst mit Deinem Twitter-Konto. Abmelden /  Ändern )


Du kommentierst mit Deinem Facebook-Konto. Abmelden /  Ändern )

Verbinde mit %s

Diese Seite verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden..

%d Bloggern gefällt das: