18. The Berlin Prize

Announcing the 2014-2015 Class of Berlin Prize Fellows

Proudly congratulating the Academy’s seventeenth class

The American Academy in Berlin is proud to announce the twenty-five recipients of the Berlin Prize Fellowship for the fall 2014 and spring 2015 terms. The highly competitive Berlin Prize is awarded each year to scholars, writers, and artists who represent the highest standards of excellence in their fields. The Academy’s seventeenth class of fellows is comprised of outstanding historians of art, architecture, culture, religion, science, and American life, fiction writers, two artists, a poet, a journalist, a composer, a filmmaker, a legal scholar, and a scholar of comparative media.

The Berlin Prize includes a monthly stipend, partial board, and residence at the Academy’s lakeside Hans Arnhold Center in Berlin-Wannsee. It is awarded annually by an independent selection committee, chaired by Anthony Vidler, Professor of Humanities and Art and Architectural History at Brown University. The Berlin Prize affords recipients the time and resources to step back from their daily obligations to work on academic and artistic projects they might not otherwise pursue, engage with their German counterparts, and experience Berlin’s vibrant cultural and political life.

Click here for a complete list of the Berlin Prize recipients and their projects for the 2014-2015 academic year (September 2014 through May 2015):

Unter den Stipendiaten:

Mary Jo Bang
Poet and Professor of English
Washington University in St. Louis
“The Bauhaus: A Study in Balance” – A Book of Poems

Tomas Venclova
Writer and Professor Emeritus of Slavic
Languages and Literatures
Yale University
A History of Lithuania – Between East and West

Siyen Fei
Associate Professor of History
University of Pennsylvania
Sexuality and Empire: Female Chastity and Frontier
Societies in Ming China (1368-1644)

The Berlin Prize Fellowships have been permanently endowed by the following individuals, foundations, and corporations: Daimler AG, Georg von Holtzbrinck Publishing Group, Nina von Maltzahn, Karl and Mary Ellen von der Heyden, John P. Birkelund, and the German Transatlantic Berlin Prize supported by European Recovery Program funds granted through the Transatlantic Program of the Federal Republic of Germany. Fellowships are also named after Axel Springer AG, Robert Bosch Foundation, Siemens AG, Berthold Leibinger Foundation, Dirk Ippen, Ellen Maria Gorrissen, Anna-Maria Kellen, Guna S. Mundheim, and Inga Maren Otto.

Kommentar verfassen

Bitte logge dich mit einer dieser Methoden ein, um deinen Kommentar zu veröffentlichen:


Du kommentierst mit Deinem WordPress.com-Konto. Abmelden /  Ändern )

Google Foto

Du kommentierst mit Deinem Google-Konto. Abmelden /  Ändern )


Du kommentierst mit Deinem Twitter-Konto. Abmelden /  Ändern )


Du kommentierst mit Deinem Facebook-Konto. Abmelden /  Ändern )

Verbinde mit %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d Bloggern gefällt das: